This article provides teachers with a brief introduction to Otus Plans. Each section includes links to full articles that offer more detailed information.

❓ What is Plans? 

Otus Plans allows educators to track a variety of data points in a district-specific, itemized plan. Progress can then be tracked across classes and school years, allowing for a more individualized and flexible approach to learning and growth.

❓ How can teachers use Plans? 

After a plan template has been published in Otus, teachers can add students to the plan, view progress for any students in their classes, and update student progress for each plan.

Article Table of Contents


Viewing Plans

  • Step 1: Select Plans from your list of modules. Scroll through the list or use the built-in search feature to locate the correct plan template.

  • Step 2: Click on the name of the Plan you'd like to view to see the students already added to the Plan and the details of the Plan template.

This page consists of two sections: Students and Details.

➡️ Students

The Students page shows the overall status breakdown, as well as a list of students who have been added to the plan, and their individual statuses. The Search Students field searches the list of students already added to the Plan.

  • The Students list is sorted alphabetically by last name, but the sort can be reversed by clicking on the Students column heading.

  • The Status column displays the current overall status of the Plan.

  • To export the overall status to a CSV, select the download button to the right of the Search Students field.

💡 Tip from the Otus Team: To see a student’s plan and the status of the individual items within the plan, click on the student’s row. For more information on updating a student’s plan, click here.

➡️ Details

The Details page presents a read-only view of the details of the plan, including the description and each section with all corresponding items. Each section can also include a detailed description to guide teachers as they update each section of a student's plan. This allows teachers and administrators to easily see the plan in its entirety without adding a student or opening a specific student’s plan progress.

  • Step 3: Select a student's row to open their specific plan and view their progress.


Adding Students 

Teachers can add any individual students or student groups from their own classes to any plan.

  • Step 1: Students can be added by selecting Add Students from the ellipsis menu. If there is an Add Students button in the Status column, that indicates the Plan does not have any students added. Once students are added to the plan, that button will be replaced by the overall status breakdown. You can also add students by choosing Add Students when a Plan has been selected.


Updating Student Data

Once a student has been added to the Plan, their progress can be viewed or updated by any administrator and any other teacher who has access to that student.

➡️. Teachers can update the overall status of the plan by editing the status row.

➡️ Teachers can also update specific items in the Plan by clicking on the status, date, or notes fields in the student's plan.

➡️ Teachers can add attachments to a student's status update as well.

For more detailed guidance on updating a student’s plan or adding attachments, view these articles!


Viewing Historical Data

As the items in a student’s plan are updated over time, the historical data of any status is recorded and accessible to all educators with access to that student’s plan. It is presented both as a line graph displaying the progress on that status over time, and a table showing each entry, with the newest at the top.

To access the historical data of an item:

  • Step 1: After opening the Plan template, choose the student you'd like to view.

  • Step 2: On the student Plan page, select the name or description of the item:

For a more detailed look at historical item performance, view this article!


Removing Students

A student can be "removed" from a plan, or they can "complete" a plan. Removing and completing have two different contexts:

  • Cases in which you would remove a student from a Plan:

    • The Plan no longer pertains to the student and the Plan no longer needs to be monitored and tracked for this student.

    • The student was accidentally added to the Plan.

  • Cases in which you would mark a student as complete for a Plan:

    • Educators have tracked and monitored all that is needed, and the student can now transition out of the Plan.

➡️ Reactivating Students

  • If a student was removed or marked complete for a Plan, you can add them back to the Plan with all of their previously saved data.


Next Steps

Did this answer your question?