This article refers to making updates to an individual student's Otus Plan.

➡️ If you are looking to add students to an Otus Plan, start here!

➡️ If you are looking to view the historical data of items within a plan, start here!

Now that students have been added to the plan, it’s time to enter data!

Article Table of Contents


Item Updates

There are three different column types for items in Plans:

We'll cover all three!

✅ Column Type: Status

  • To enter a status into a plan, start by clicking on the corresponding cell.

  • Fill out the Date, Time, Status, and Notes fields.


➡️ Date and Time Fields (1)

What is it?

  • Establishes when the status was recorded

  • Can be a past, present, or future date and time

  • Records each status update as a new entry in historical data in chronological order

How does it work?

  • Click in the field to select a date from the calendar view.

  • Type in a date using the following format: MM/DD/YY (defaults to Current Date).

  • Type into Time field to establish a time (defaults to Current Time).


➡️ Status Field (2)

What is it?

  • Uses the Grading Scale set in the plan template

  • Sets data seen in the status column on the student’s plan

How does it work?

  • For Points, type in the point value or use the Up & Down arrows to increase or decrease.

  • For a Custom Grading Scale, choose the value from the drop-down menu.


➡️ Notes Field (3)

What is it?

  • Can be used to add context to a status or add any other applicable notes.

How does it work?

  • Click in the field and begin typing (there is no character limit).

  • In scenarios where multiple people use the same administrator account (for instance…) the person who enters the note can include their name to indicate who updated that status.


➡️ Attachments Field (4)

What is it?

  • Can be used to add attachments/artifacts to a student's plan.

How does it work?

  • Select the Choose Attachments button.

  • Select the type of attachment you wish to add.

  • For more Information, click here.

Column Type: Text

To enter text into a plan, start by clicking on the corresponding cell.

What is it?

  • Can be used to collect any flexible data that should be recorded manually.

  • Examples:

    • Point Person for completion of a particular item

    • The person recording a status update if added from a joint account

How is it used?

  • Click in the field and begin typing (there is no character limit).


Column Type: Date

To enter a date into a plan, start by clicking on the corresponding cell.

What is it?

  • Marks an independent date for the item

  • Examples:

    • Indicate the start date of an item

    • Indicate the target date of completion for an item

    • Mark when the item should be updated next

How is it used?

  • Click in the field to select a date from the calendar view.

  • Type in a date using the following format: MM/DD/YY (defaults to Current Date).

➡️ Adding Attachments to a Status

  • Step 1: Locate the item that you would like to update. The attachment can be added to any status column of a Plan's item.

  • Step 2: Click directly on the status cell to add a new status.

  • Step 3: Update the Date, Time, Status, and any notes you'd like to add.

  • Step 4: Drag and drop the file you'd like to attach or select Choose Attachments to access more options.

  • Step 5: Select Save to finish your update.

To learn how to edit or delete attachments, click here.

❗ Important Note

If you need to remove the attachment, simply click the x by the file name in Uploaded Files. You can attach multiple files by dragging additional files or choosing additional attachments.

➡️ Editing or Deleting

Do you need to delete an entry made to a student's Plan? Follow the steps below.

Please note the following:

  • Editing and deleting can only be done by the original author of the status or an administrator.

  • The overall status of a student's plan is not able to be deleted. Only statuses on individual items of a plan can be deleted.

How to Delete a Status from an Individual Item:

  • Step 1: Select the student from the student list.

  • Step 2: Select the item (not the status).

  • Step 3: Select the ellipsis to the right of the status you'd like to edit or delete.

Don't see the ellipsis in Step 3? That means you do not have access to edit or delete that status update (you are not the original author of the status or an administrator).


Overall Status for the Plan

An overall status for the plan can be added to provide a visual indicator of the student’s status on the plan overview page.

Select the pencil icon to edit the overall status of the plan. To save your changes, click the checkmark next to the status dropdown.


Customize Plan

If the Customization feature is ON in the template settings, there will be an ellipsis icon in the top right corner of a student’s plan.

  • Step 1: Open the plan you are updating.

  • Step 2: Select the student that should have a customized plan by clicking on their row.

  • Step 3: Click the ellipsis in the upper right-hand corner and select Customize.

  • Step 4: Use the eye icon to show or hide the item for this student.

❗ Important Notes on Customizing:

  • Only items (rows) can be hidden/shown. Individual columns in each item cannot be hidden.

  • If all items in a section are hidden, the entire section will be hidden for that student.

  • If data was added to an item and the item is then hidden, the data is not deleted for that student. To reveal the hidden data, just customize and click on the eye icon again to unhide the item.

Remember, always hit Save to update!


Mark as Complete

Has this student fully completed the Plan, and no longer needs the Plan information to be tracked and monitored? In this case, you will want to mark the student as complete.

  • Step 1: Open the Plan the student is in.

  • Step 2: Select the ellipsis to the right of the student.

  • Step 3: Select Complete.

You can also mark a student complete from within their individual Plan:

What is the difference between complete and remove?

  • Completing a plan indicates that the student progressed through the Plan from beginning to end, and has successfully completed the Plan.

  • Being removed from a plan indicates that the Plan no longer applies to the student, and the student no longer needs to be tracked or monitored under this Plan's criteria.


Next Steps

Did this answer your question?