If a teacher is leaving the school district, the following actions should be taken to make sure there is a smooth transfer of content and any other needed information.
Change the password on the teacher account
Develop a plan for the transfer of content
Remove the teacher tile from the district.
Establish a plan for the teacher's current classes (if this is happening during the school year).
Change Password of Teacher Account
You will want to change the password of the teacher's account. The password can be changed one of two ways:
The teacher can use the Forgot Password link on the login page to change their password.
The Otus Support Team can change the password. For assistance with password changes, please reach via the chat option in your Otus account.
Develop a Plan for the Transfer of Content
If the teacher account contains assessments or lessons that need to be shared with others in the district, you may want to discuss this with the teacher and determine a plan of action. There are a few ways to approach this. While thinking of your plan, keep the following in mind:
Teachers can share individual assessments with a single user at a time.
Teachers are unable to share folders of assessments.
Administrators can share individual assessments with multiple users at a time.
Administrators are able to share folders of assessments.
Take a look at the statements below and decide which best represents your situation. If the teacher has...
✅ Less than 20 assessments need to be shared with a single user.
✅ Less than 20 assessments need to be shared with multiple users at once.
✅ More than 20 assessments need to be shared with a single user or multiple users at once.
Individual lessons can be shared by teachers and administrators to a single user at a time.
Users are not able to share lesson folders at this time.
Remove the Teacher Tile
In order to avoid confusion, we recommend removing the teacher tile from your district. To do this, take the following steps:
Step 1: While in the Main Admin account, select Teachers from the Home Page.
Step 2: Search for the teacher.
Step 3: Select the trash can icon on the teacher tile.
Step 4: Select OK to confirm.
Establish a Plan for the Teacher's Current Classes
You may want to change the main teacher of the classes. If so, click here to learn more.