There are a few cases in which you may want to return (unsubmit) an assessment to a student, for example:

  • The student accidentally submitted the assessment.

  • You want to offer the student a chance to change their answers.

  • The student submitted the assessment with unanswered questions.

Article Table of Contents


Advanced and Simple Assessments

➡️ General Information

When you unsubmit an Advanced or Simple assessment...

  • The student's work and answers are saved in the assessment; unsubmitting does not remove previous work and answers.

  • Any auto or manual scoring will be removed from both the student's assessment and the gradebook and are not recoverable.

  • Statuses of Excluded, Excused, or Missing remain; unsubmitting does not change these statuses.

  • Submission time stamps are removed, including On Time and Late statuses.

  • Assessments marked Graded or Turned In change to In Progress.

  • Time limits:

    • If it is a Simple Assessment, you are given the option to reset the timer for that student. Otherwise the student will have any time still unused on the timer to finish their assessment.

    • If it is an Advanced Assessment, you do not have the option to reset the timer (due to Learnosity restrictions).

  • If using availability windows, there needs to be at least one availability window open in order to unsubmit the assessment; you will not be able to unsubmit if the last availability window has passed. See the Availability Windows section below for more details.

➡️ How to Unsubmit an Advanced or Simple Assessment

❗ The process outlined below applies to Simple and Advanced Assessments only.

  • Step 1: Navigate to your Assessments module.

  • Step 2: Select Assigned.

  • Step 3: Select the correct class.

  • Step 4: Select the assessment.

  • Step 5: Locate the student. Then select the ellipsis.

  • Step 6: Select Unsubmit.

  • Step 7 (Simple Assessments Only): If using a time limit, determine whether or not you'd like the timer to reset when the student begins the assessment again. If not using a time limit, disregard this step.

  • Step 8: Confirm by selecting Unsubmit.


Unsubmitting and Availability Windows

❗ If you are not using availability windows, you can disregard this section. This section only pertains to assessments that are using availability windows.

Availability windows play a vital role in the ability to unsubmit an assessment. If you'd like to learn more about availability windows, check out this resource.

➡️ What You Need To Know

  • All assessments will auto-submit at the conclusion of the last availability window.

  • If you no longer have any open availability windows for the assessment, and an assessment was auto-submitted due to the closing of the last window, the unsubmit option will be unavailable:

  • To unsubmit an assessment that was submitted due to the closing of the last availability window, you'll need to add another availability window. Here's how:

    • Step 1: Navigate to the assessment on your Assigned Assessments page and select the ellipsis.

    • Step 2: Select Edit.

    • Step 3: Add an additional availability window. ❗ Make sure you click "Apply" for both the start and end selections!

    • Step 4: Select Save.

  • The unsubmit button should now be available for that assessment.


Rubric Assessments

Do you need to unsubmit a Rubric assessment? This process looks a bit different than Simple and Advanced assessments. Additionally, the steps you will take to unsubmit will be different depending on whether or not the assessment includes attachments.

➡️ If the assessment includes student attachments of any kind:

  • Step 1: Navigate to the assigned assessment, select the ellipsis, and choose Edit.

  • Step 2: Make sure Allow Multiple Attempts is turned ON (the box is checked).

  • Step 3: Grade the assessment (don't worry, this grade will reset when you grade the students next submission).

  • Step 4: The assessment will now be available for the student to reopen, and any attachments they added will still be on the assessment.

➡️ If the assessment does NOT include student attachments of any kind:

  • Step 1: Navigate to the assigned assessment, select the ellipsis, and choose Manage Assignees.

  • Step 2: Locate the assessment across the top of the page.

  • Step 3: Uncheck the box for the student you'd like to unsubmit that assessment for.

  • Step 4: Recheck that same box - this will reassign the assessment to the student, and it will now be available for the student to reopen. This method does not preserve student attachments. If you want the student attachments to remain, please see the above section.

❗ Complete this process with caution, as you don't want to reset the assessment for the wrong student!


Next Steps

Did this answer your question?