If a teacher is leaving the school district, the following actions should be taken to make sure there is a smooth transfer of content and any other needed information.

Change the password on the teacher account

Develop a plan for the transfer of content

Remove the teacher tile

See below for more detailed information on each of these tasks.


Change Password of Teacher Account

You will want to change the password of the teacher's account. The password can be changed one of two ways:

1️⃣ The teacher can use the Forgot Password link on the login page to change their password.

2️⃣ The Otus Support Team can change the password by reaching out through the chat.


Develop a Plan for the Transfer of Content

If the teacher account contains assessments or lessons that need to be shared with others in the district, you may want to discuss this with the teacher and determine a plan of action. There are a few ways to approach this. While thinking of your plan, keep the following in mind:

➡️ Sharing Assessments:

  • Teachers can share individual assessments with a single user at a time.

  • Teachers are unable to share folders of assessments.

  • Administrators can share individual assessments with multiple users at a time.

  • Administrators are able to share folders of assessments.

Administrators have the ability to share locked assessments, but we do not recommend using this option in this particular case. Sharing a locked assessment means the only account that can make edits is the original account, which in this case, will be the teacher that is leaving the district. Accessing the original assessment to make edits will be more challenging this way.

💡 Tip from the Otus Team: We recommend that teachers create or share assessments to a generic account so that the assessments are already "transferred" in case they leave the district.

➡️ Sharing Lessons:

  • Individual lessons can be shared by teachers and administrators to a single user at a time.

  • Users are not able to share lesson folders at this time.

Take a look at the statements below and decide which best represents your situation. If the teacher has...

Less than 20 assessments need to be shared with a single user.

  • We recommend: Have the teacher share each individual assessment by following the directions found here.

Less than 20 assessments need to be shared with multiple users at once.

  • We recommend: Temporarily change the teacher account to an admin account, create a folder for the assessments, and then share the folder.

  • You will need access to the Main Admin account for your district in order to temporarily change the teacher to an admin account. If you do not have these credentials, reach out to the Otus Support Team in the chat, and we'll be happy to help!

More than 20 assessments need to be shared with a single user or multiple users at once.

  • We recommend: Temporarily change the teacher account to an admin account, create a folder for the assessments, and then share the folder.

  • You will need access to the Main Admin account for your district in order to temporarily change the teacher to an admin account. If you do not have these credentials, reach out to the Otus Support Team in the chat. We'll be happy to help!


Remove the Teacher Tile

In order to avoid confusion, we recommend removing the teacher tile from your district. To do this, take the following steps:

  • Step 1: While in the Main Admin account, select Teachers from the Home Page.

  • Step 2: Search for the teacher.

  • Step 3: Select the trash can icon on the teacher tile.

  • Step 4: Select OK to confirm.

Notes:

  • You will need access to the Main Admin account for your district in order to complete the above. If you do not have these credentials, reach out to the Otus Support Team in the chat, and we'll be happy to help!

  • If you remove a teacher tile by accident or need to recover the teacher tile for any reason, please reach out to the Otus Support Team in the chat, and we'll be happy to help!


Next Steps

Did this answer your question?