All Collections
Assessments: General Information
General
Allow Students to Retake an Assessment
Allow Students to Retake an Assessment

Explore options for retaking assessments.

Kristin Town avatar
Written by Kristin Town
Updated over a week ago

There are several options for allowing students to retake assessments in Otus. As you explore the options below, think about who needs to retake the assessment and how you'd like to handle the original score.

Need help assigning the assessment? Click here to review how to assign an assessment.


Unsubmit the Assessment

Advanced and Simple assessments have an unsubmit option.

Unsubmitting can be done from the student list within the assigned assessment

Which students are impacted?

  • You can unsubmit individual students' assessments.

What happens to the original score?

  • When you unsubmit an advanced or simple assessment, the student's work and answers are saved in the assessment; unsubmitting does not remove previous work and answers. Any auto or manual scoring is removed from both the student's assessment and the gradebook and is not recoverable.


Allow Multiple Attempts

When assigning an assessment, there is an option in Settings to Allow Multiple Attempts. This allows students to take the assessment again after their first attempt has been graded. You can toggle this option on or off at any time, even after an assessment has been assigned.

Which students are impacted?

  • This setting will apply for all students included in the original assignment. If you assigned it to your whole class, the whole class can retake the assessment.

What happens to the original score?

  • After the original assessment is graded, a student's second attempt completely overwrites the scores from the original attempt. The original score is not stored for reference and cannot be restored.
     


Manage Assignees

To unassign and re-assign the assessment for select students, you can manage the assignees of the original assignment. This will delete their previous attempt and allow them to start again.

  • Step 1: Head to your Assigned Assessments page, click the ellipsis menu to the right of the assessment, and open Manage Assignees.

  • Step 2: Uncheck the box beside the student's name. This will remove their first attempt entirely and delete their score.

  • Step 3: Re-check the same box beside the student's name to make the assessment available to them again.

Which students are impacted?

  • Only the selected students are able to start the assessment again.

What happens to the original score?

  • The original score and student responses are deleted entirely, providing the student with a fresh start. The original data is not recoverable.


Assign the Assessment Again

From your assessment drafts list, assign the assessment to the class a second time, or select individual students to receive it a second time. 

Which students are impacted?

  • This allows you to select the whole class, individual students, or student groups to take the assessment again.

What happens to the original score?

  • This preserves the scores from the original attempt and creates two columns in your points gradebook or two attempts at the linked standards in the standards gradebook.


Clone and Assign the Assessment

By cloning the assessment and giving it a different name, you are able to differentiate the two attempts in the gradebook.

  • Step 1: From your assessment drafts page, click the ellipsis menu to the right of the assessment and select Clone.

  • Step 2: Rename the assessment to distinguish it from the original

  • Step 3: Assign the cloned copy to the entire class or selected students.

Which students are impacted?

  • This allows you to select the whole class, individual students, or student groups to take the assessment again.

What happens to the original score?

  • The original assessment score is saved. This will create two separate assessment columns in your points gradebook since you've created two distinct assessments.

Did this answer your question?