All Collections
Advanced Assessments
Featured
Edit Content of an Assigned Advanced Assessment
Edit Content of an Assigned Advanced Assessment

Learn how to edit the content, point values, or other aspects of an assigned Advanced assessment.

Monica Burke avatar
Written by Monica Burke
Updated over a week ago

If you need to edit an assigned advanced assessment, you've come to the right place!

This article is for editing assigned advanced assessments. If you are looking to edit the draft of an advanced assessment, head over to the assessment in your Drafts!

You can take the following actions on an assigned advanced assessment:

  • Edit the title or type (category).

  • Edit the content of an item.

    • Fix typos or add/remove content from a question

    • Point values

    • Correct answers

    • Remove a question

    • Add a question

    • Edit the standards

  • Remove an item.

  • Regrade the submitted assessments to reflect any changes made in the editing process.

Please Note

  • Drafts and assigned assessments are two entirely independent resources. What does that mean?

    • Any changes you make to the draft of your assessment will NOT be reflected in the assigned assessment.

    • Any changes you make to the assigned assessment will NOT be reflected in the draft.


Edit the Title or Type (Category)

  • Select the ellipsis and choose Edit Details.

  • Change the Assessment Name or the Assessment Type, then select Save.


Edit the Content of an Item

While in your assigned assessments, select the ellipsis and choose Edit.

You will notice a few differences between this editing view and the regular draft view:

  • The blue Editing indicator lets you know that you are not in the original draft, you are instead editing the assigned version.

  • You will see the number of classes this assessment has been assigned to. Click View Assigned Classes to see the specific classes:

This means that any edits you make here will impact the assigned version for all classes listed.

Edit Content/Typos, Point Values, or Correct Answers

Click to see how to edit the content/typos, point values, or correct answers.

  • Select the item and choose Edit in the upper-right corner.

  • Scroll down to view the item, then select the Edit pencil icon.

  • Make any changes you need to. Once you are finished, select the blue Save button in the upper-right corner. Confirm you'd like to make those changes by selecting Save Changes:

Any changes you made to the assessment will be applied to all assigned classes. Your original draft will not be affected.

💡Tip: If you add a new question to any item, you will need to unsubmit any student assessments that have already been turned in. This will allow students to answer the new question and submit again. If students haven't yet submitted the assessment, they'll see the updated questions for that item when they access the assessment.

Remove a Question from an Item

Click to see how to remove a question or feature from an item.

This process also applies to removing features, such as passages, calculators, rulers, etc.

  • Select the item and choose Edit in the upper-right corner.

  • Scroll down to view the item, then select the trash can delete icon beside the question or feature you would like to remove.

  • Select the blue Save button in the upper-right corner. Confirm you'd like to make those changes by selecting Save Changes:

Any changes you made to the assessment will be applied to all assigned classes. Your original draft will not be affected.

Add a Question to an Item

Click to see how to add a question or feature to an item.

  • Select the item and choose Edit in the upper-right corner.

  • Select the ➕ icon at the bottom of the item.

  • Add your new question or feature. You have all of the same options as you did when originally building the assessment.

  • When you are finished, select the blue Save button in the upper-right corner. Confirm you'd like to make those changes by selecting Save Changes:

Any changes you made to the assessment will be applied to all assigned classes. Your original draft will not be affected.

Edit Linked Standards

Click to see how to edit linked standards to an item; this includes adding, removing, or replacing standards.

  • Select the item and choose Edit in the upper-right corner.

  • To view or delete a standard, select the View Linked Standards button.

  • Hover over the standard you'd like to delete, then select the trash can delete icon.

  • Confirm by selecting Yes.

  • To link a new or additional standard to the item, select the Link to Standards button.

  • Choose the standard you'd like to link by clicking through the available folders or by searching in the upper-right corner, then select Link Standards.

  • When you are finished, select the blue Save button in the upper-right corner. Confirm you'd like to make those changes by selecting Save Changes:

Any changes you made to the assessment will be applied to all assigned classes. Your original draft will not be affected.

Remove an Item from the Assessment

Click to see how to delete an entire item from the assessment.

To delete an entire item from an assessment, select the trash can delete icon.

Please delete items with caution, as this action cannot be undone on an assessment that has already been assigned!


Save Changes

Once you've made all of the changes you need to make, select the Save Changes button in the upper right corner.

You will then be prompted to either Save Changes or Cancel:

Save Changes

This will save the changes you made and will regrade any assessments that have already been submitted.

💡 Tip: Based on the class size and server traffic, the regrading process may not happen immediately. When Save Changes is selected, the assessment is added to a queue of assessments to be regraded. While the assessment is in the queue to be regraded, it will have a status of Turned In. Once the regrading has taken place (assuming all manually graded questions have already been graded), the assessment will switch to a Graded status.

Cancel

You will return to the editing screen to continue making edits if needed.


Otus Live Video

Click to see a video from our Otus Live series on how to edit assigned advanced assessments.


FAQ and Troubleshooting

Click to see FAQ and troubleshooting details.

Can I add a new item to the assessment?

While you can't add an entirely new item to the assessment, you can add a question to an existing item. Instead of adding a new item, try adding the additional content to an existing item.

If I manually graded any questions, will those scores be erased when it is regraded?

No, any scores you manually enter should remain.

Why do the assessments say Turned In instead of Graded?

When Save Changes is selected, the assessment is added to a queue of assessments to be regraded, the regrading process may not happen immediately. While the assessment is in the queue to be regraded, it will have a status of Turned In. Once the regrading has taken place (assuming all manually graded questions have already been graded), the assessment will switch to a Graded status.

How do I edit the draft version?

Head over to your Drafts assessments page, select the draft, and make any edits you need. Remember, those edits you make to the draft will not affect the assigned versions.

How do I make edits to an assigned locked assessment? What if the locked assessment is assigned to multiple classes?

The only one that can edit the assigned version of a locked assessment is the original creator of the assessment. Please reach out to the person that manages the particular assessment you need to fix, and see if they are able to make the edits needed. If the assessment is assigned to multiple classes, the assessment owner can edit the assessment in any class it has been assigned to, and it will be updated for all classes.

Who can edit the assigned assessment?

You can edit the assigned assessment as long as it is in the My Folders section of your draft assessments. For example, if it was an assessment assigned from an administrator account, or if it is a locked assessment that was shared with you, you will not have the ability to edit.

Did this answer your question?