Update a Student's Plan

Track a student’s progress in a plan by editing statuses, adding attachments, changing dates, and customizing items per student.

Kristin Town avatar
Written by Kristin Town
Updated over a week ago

Once students have been added to a plan, their progress can be updated by any teacher or administrator with access to that student through their class rosters or site and grade level permissions.

🤔 Curious about adding Plans to your district? Contact your district’s Otus Client Experience Partner, or reach out to us using the in-app chat!


Opening a Student's Plan

  • Step 1: From your plans module, you will first select the plan that needs to be updated.

  • Step 2: Select the student from the plan's student list to see the details of the individual student's plan, including status updates, goals, and any attachments that have already been added.


Updating Items

There are three different types of columns available in plans. We'll cover how to update each column type.

Status

➡️ Date and Time Fields (1)

What is it?

  • Establishes when the status was recorded

  • Can be a past, present, or future date and time

  • Records each status update as a new entry in historical data in chronological order

How does it work?

  • Click in the field to select a date from the calendar view.

  • Type in a date using the following format: MM/DD/YY (defaults to Current Date).

  • Type into the Time field to establish a time (defaults to Current Time).

➡️ Status Field (2)

What is it?

  • Uses the Grading Scale set in the plan template

  • Sets data seen in the status column on the student’s plan

How does it work?

  • For Points, type in the point value or use the Up & Down arrows to increase or decrease.

  • For a Custom Grading Scale, choose the value from the drop-down menu.

  • Update multiple status fields at the same time

    • Check the individual items you'd like to update

    • Select the new value for the status column. You will see a different status field for each scale that is in use. In this case, two of the fields use the same scale while one of the fields is different.

    • Add any notes or attachments.

    • The same notes and attachments will show in each status update.

➡️ Notes Field (3)

What is it?

  • Can be used to add context to a status or add any other applicable notes.

How does it work?

  • Click in the field and begin typing. There is no character limit.

  • In scenarios where multiple people use the same administrator account the person who enters the note can include their name to indicate who updated that status.

➡️ Attachments Field (4)

What is it?

  • Can be used to add attachments/artifacts to a student's plan.

How does it work?

❗ Important Notes:

  • If you need to remove the attachment, simply click the x by the file name in Uploaded Files.

  • You can attach multiple files by dragging additional files or choosing additional attachments.

➡️ Save

Click Save when you've completed your updates to the status field.

Text

  • Click on the corresponding cell to enter text into a plan.

What is it?

  • Can be used to collect any flexible data that should be recorded manually.

  • Examples:

    • Point Person for completion of a particular item

    • The person recording a status update if added from a joint account

How is it used?

  • Click in the field and begin typing. There is no character limit.

  • Select Save when you've completed your text entry.


Date

What is it?

  • Marks an independent date for the item

  • Examples:

    • Indicate the start date of an item

    • Indicate the target date of completion for an item

    • Mark when the item should be updated next

How is it used?

  • Click in the field to select a date from the calendar view.

  • Type in a date using the following format: MM/DD/YY (defaults to Current Date).

  • Select Save

💡Tip: Navigate quickly from student to student by selecting the student you'd like to update next from the dropdown or using the navigational arrows to move from student to student.


Editing or Deleting an Update

  • Editing and deleting can only be done by the original author of the status or an administrator.

  • The overall status of a student's plan cannot be deleted. Only statuses on individual items of a plan can be deleted.

  • Step 1: Select the item (not the status).

  • Step 2: Select the ellipsis to the right of the status you'd like to edit or delete.

  • Step 3: If you choose to delete the item update, you must confirm the deletion.

The ellipsis will only show on updates that you have entered. Only the original author of the status or an administrator can edit or delete an update.


Selecting an Overall Status

An overall status for the plan can be added to provide a visual indicator of the student’s status on the plan overview page.

Select the pencil icon to edit the overall status of the plan. To save your changes, click the checkmark next to the status dropdown.


Customizing the Items

If the Customization feature is ON in the template settings, an ellipsis shows in the top right corner of a student's plan.

  • Step 1: Open the plan you are updating.

  • Step 2: Select the student that should have a customized plan by clicking on their row.

  • Step 3: Click the ellipsis in the upper right-hand corner, and select Customize (see above).

  • Step 4: Use the eye icon to show or hide the entire section. You can also click the eye icon to hide only a specific item.

💡Tip: If the plan's section has multiple items and only a few apply to the student, hide the entire section and then click the eye icon to unhide only the items you need for this student.

  • Step 5: Click Save to update.

❗️Only items (rows) can be hidden/shown. Individual columns in each item cannot be hidden.

❗️If all items in a section are hidden, the entire section will be hidden for that student.

❗️If data was added to an item and the item is later hidden, the student's data is not deleted. Reveal the hidden data easily by selecting customize and clicking the eye icon again to unhide the item.


Completing or Removing a Plan

Students can be removed from the plan or marked as completed.

  • What does Completed mean?

    • The student met the goals of their plan

    • Educators have tracked all necessary data

  • What does being Removed mean?

    • The plan no longer applies to the student

    • The student was incorrectly added to the plan

  • Step 1: Option 1 - Select the ellipsis beside the student's name from the plan's student list. Option 2 - Select the ellipsis from the individual student's plan in the upper right-hand corner.

  • Step 2: Select Complete or Remove.

  • Step 3: If you remove the student, confirm your selection.


Adding Students to Groups

You can add students to student groups to help you differentiate learning directly from the plan's student list.

  • Step 1: First use the checkboxes to the left of the student names to select the student or students you would like to add to a group.

  • Step 2: Then select Add to Groups.

  • Step 3: Click directly on the search box to see a list of student groups. Groups can be selected one at a time. To add the same students to more than one group, click on the search box again to select another group.

  • Step 4: Choose Save to add the students to the group(s) you selected.


Otus Live

Click here to view a video from our Otus Live series on how teachers can view and update a student's plan as a teacher.


FAQ and Troubleshooting

Click to see FAQ and Troubleshooting Details.

Who sees the updates added to a student's plan?

Administrators from your district or school and other teachers who have access to this student through their class rosters can see a student's plan. Family and student accounts can also be granted permission to view plans.

Who can update a student's plan?

Administrators from your district or school and other teachers who have access to this student through their class rosters can update a student's plan. Family and student accounts can also be granted permission to update plans.

Can another teacher delete one of my updates?

No, only administrators and whoever added the update can delete a status update.

Did this answer your question?