Do you want to make changes to a lesson that has already been made? You've come to the right place!

💡 Tip from the Otus Team - if you've already assigned the lesson, that's ok! Any edits you make to the draft version of the lesson will automatically update the assigned version that the students see.

This article has four sections:

  • Edit the Title or Instructions
  • Edit Activities
  • Edit the Due Date or "Complete in Order" Setting
  • FAQs

__________________________________________________________________

Edit the Title or Instructions

Here are the steps to edit the title or instructions of your lesson.

  • Step 1: From your Lessons module, make sure you are in your Drafts, then select the lesson you wish to edit the title or instructions.
  • Step 2: Select the pencil icon next to the title.
  • Step 3: After making the desired edits, select Save.

__________________________________________________________________

Editing Activities

First, head over to the Drafts section of your lessons module. Then, select the lesson that contains the activities you wish to edit.

Edit the Activity Details (title, instructions, or image)

  • Step 1: Select the ellipsis in the bottom-right corner of the activity tile and select Edit.
  • Step 2: Make any edits to the title, instructions, or change the image to be displayed on the tile.
  • Step 3: Select Save.

Edit the Activity Link

  • Step 1: Select the ellipsis in the bottom-right corner of the activity tile and select Edit.
  • Step 2: Make any edits to the link or replace the link altogether.
  • Step 3: Select Save.

Note: If the activity link you are editing is only used in one lesson, the lesson activity and the associated resource on your Bookshelf will be updated. If the link for an activity is in a lesson that was cloned, we will create a new bookshelf resource instead of editing the original resource.

💡 Tip from the Otus Team: If you need to edit the resource you attached to the activity (such as a video or file), hang tight - that feature is coming soon! In the meantime, you can delete the activity with the incorrect resource, then add a new activity with the correct resources.

Delete an Activity

  • Step 1: Select the ellipsis in the bottom-right corner of the activity tile and select Delete.
  • Step 2: After reading the prompt, select Yes to delete the activity (deleted activities are unable to be recovered; please delete with caution).

__________________________________________________________________

Edit the Due Date or "Complete in Order" Setting

If you want to change the due date of a lesson you've already assigned, or want to adjust the setting that forces students to complete the activities in order, read below.

  • Step 1: From the Assigned section of your Lessons module, select the class you assigned the assessment to. Then, select the ellipsis to the right of the lesson and select Settings.
  • Step 2: Change or add a due date by selecting the Calendar icon (don't forget to select Apply after making the changes!). Toggle the requirement for completing the activities in order ON or OFF.
  • Step 3: Select Save.

__________________________________________________________________

FAQ

  • If I make changes to a lesson, do I have to unassign it and reassign it for students to see the changes? No. Any edits you make to the draft version of the lesson will automatically update the assigned version that the students see.
  • Can I replace the link in an activity tile? Yes. You can now edit the link if you made a mistake or replace it altogether. Instructions are included above.
  • Can I edit the resources I attached to an activity (for example, if I need to replace a video)? If you need to edit the resource you attached to the activity (such as a video or file), hang tight - that feature is coming soon! In the meantime, you can delete the activity with the incorrect resource, then add a new activity with the correct resources.
  • Can I edit which students I assigned the lesson to, or do I have to unassign it from the entire class? You can unassign the lesson from certain students by using the Manage Assignees option for that lesson.

__________________________________________________________________

Next Steps

Did this answer your question?