After a Plan template has been published, there may be scenarios where the template needs to be updated or modified in some way. This article will demonstrate what options are available, and how to edit the template safely.

❗️Changing a template can have a significant impact on the student data recorded in that plan. Please use caution when updating published templates, and note any warnings that appear in Otus.

Article Table of Contents


Navigating to Edit a Published Plan

  • Step 1: From the Plans module, select the ellipsis on the right side of the Plan row

  • Step 2: Select Edit Template


Editing in the Template Builder

When editing a published template, most of the same options are available as there were when initially creating the template.❗️ However, since the template is already published, anything that is deleted will delete all student data associated with that feature of the template.

We’ll cover each type of change that can be made, but first here is a list of what cannot be edited after publishing:

🚫 Change Status Scale: The Grading Scale used in the overall status or in any individual item cannot be changed to a different scale after publishing.

🚫 Delete Status column: If there is only one Status column in an item, it cannot be deleted. Every item requires at least one Status column.


Deleting Features

Any column, item, or entire section can be deleted from a published template.

❗️ Doing so will delete all student data associated with that feature.

➡️ Deleting Columns

Columns can be deleted. Select the ellipsis on the right side of the column header and select Delete Column.❗️This will delete all student data associated with that column.

➡️ Deleting Items

Items can be deleted. Select the ellipsis on the right side of the item title and select Delete Item.❗️This will delete all student data associated with all columns in that item.

➡️ Deleting Sections

Sections can be deleted. Select the ellipsis in the top right corner of the section and select Delete Section.❗️Since this will delete all student data associated with all items in this section, you’ll need to follow the instructions in the warning dialog and type the name of the section into the field for the Delete button to be enabled.

➡️ Deleting Templates

Entire templates can be deleted. From the main Plans list, select the ellipsis on the right side of the plan row and select Delete Template.❗️Since this will delete all student data associated with all items in this plan template, you’ll need to follow the instructions in the warning dialog and type the name of the section into the field for the Delete button to be enabled.


Editing Existing Features

Any of the following features that can be edited can be changed safely without negatively affecting data in the plan.

➡️ Editing Template Name and Settings

  • Title can be changed

  • 🚫 Status: Scale cannot be changed

  • Description can be changed

  • Customization: Allow educators to customize plans can be toggled ON or OFF after publishing.

❗️Note: Any items that were hidden before Customization is toggled OFF will remain hidden (but the data will not be deleted), and cannot be shown again unless Customization is turned back ON here in the template. See the Customization section of this article for more information.

➡️ Editing Columns

  • ✅ Columns can be renamed

  • ✅ Columns can be rearranged

➡️ Editing Items

  • ✅ Items can be renamed

  • ✅ Items can be rearranged

➡️ Editing Sections

  • ✅ Items can be renamed

  • 🚫 Sections cannot be rearranged


Adding New Features

New features can be added to a published plan.

  • ✅ New Columns can be added.

  • ✅ New Items can be added...

    • ❗️Note: Any new items will be hidden from use and will need to be manually enabled for each student. See Customize Plans for more details.

  • ✅ New Sections can be added...

    • ❗️Note: Any new sections (and any accompanying new items within that section) will be hidden from use and will need to be manually enabled for each student. See Customize Plan for more details.

❗ Note: Any changes made when editing the template are only officially saved once the Publish button is clicked. Click Cancel at any time to undo the changes made while editing.


Next Steps

Did this answer your question?